Goat Cheese and Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

So as many of you know I eat a lot of veggie based meals. This was a meal I used to make a lot a while ago. I’m not opposed to animal protein and still eat it on occasion so I want to include some ways I have prepared these types of dishes. I would highly advise getting chicken sourced locally if possible and from a reputable place. If you are local to the QCA check out August Acres for chicken and pork.

That being said I don’t have a formal recipe. I take my chicken breasts and I cut them so that they have a pocket or cut them almost all the way through.

IMG_3503

I then stuff them with spinach and herbed goat cheese. Aldi carries herbed goat cheese and I find it’s half the price of goat cheese at other grocery stores. Usually I probably wouldn’t use an entire 4oz in two breasts. Generally about 1 ounce per breast but since I didn’t have another use, I didn’t want to waste it and used it all. Once I stuff the breast I close them and stick toothpicks through them to hold them together.

IMG_3504

I then spread olive oil on them and sprinkled salt and pepper. I have bought this gray sea salt from Penzey’s and I really enjoy it. I grilled the breasts until the internal temperature reaches 165. My kids love these. We had asparagus as our veggie. I typically either steam them or toss them with Italian dressing, or olive oil and salt and pepper and then grill them. YUM!

IMG_3505

I hope you enjoy this recipe or lack there of one. I would certainly experiment. You could add some sun dried tomatoes to the middle as well or try a plain goat cheese or another variety of goat cheese. Sometime I put feta and spinach in the middle. It’s all what sounds good to you. Happy Cooking!

Jessica


Leave a comment